About Us

About the Center

Beginning with the 2008 groundbreaking for Reconciliation Park, which was Dr. John Hope Franklin’s last public appearance before his death in March 2009, the Center’s Board of Directors has created an exciting vision – to transform the bitterness and mistrust caused by years of racial division, even violence, into a hopeful future of reconciliation and cooperation for Tulsa and the nation.

A 501(c)3 nonprofit organization formed in 2007, the Center is building its reputation through its programs and projects even before there is a building. When completed in December 2009, Reconciliation Park will be a public-private partnership, owned by The City of Tulsa and managed by the John Hope Franklin Center for Reconciliation, Inc. Then the work of designing, funding and building the physical Center for Reconciliation will begin.

For more information on the activities of the John Hope Franklin Center, please contact Jean Neal at 918-295-5009 or by email at jneal@jhfcenter.org.

Board of Directors

Julius Pegues
FAA Consultant
John Hope Franklin Center Chairman

Jeffrey Burns
Jeffrey J. Burns, CPA
Finance Committee

Cason Carter
Alliance Coal
Facilities Committee and
Dinner of Reconciliation Chair

Sam Combs
ONEOK, Retired Vice Chair
Development Committee

Rosalind Crenshaw
Retired Executive
Program Committee

Dewayne Dickens
Professor, TCC
Program Committee

Reuben Gant
Greenwood Chamber of Commerce
Facilities Committee
Nominating Committee Chair

Reginald Ivey
Tulsa Health Department
Governance Committee

Kiemonn L. Jones
Riggs Abney


Jeff Kos
Historian  Secretary of Board
Program, Development &Communications Committee

Bret Little
Hogan Taylor
HR and Finance Committees

Sheryl Lovelady
Oklahoma Afterschool Network
Communication Committee 

Dwain Midget
City of Tulsa
Facilities Committee

Ruth Nelson
Neminis Inc.
Development Committee

Dr. Preston Phillips
The Warren Clinic

Taheerah Salim
Business Owner

Steve Turnbo
Schnake Turnbo Frank|PR
Communications Committee

Bob Webber
Retired Executive
Program and Finance Committees